October Birchbox Unboxing

I just received September’s box (read about it here) a few days ago, so my sub boxes have been keeping me busy! Remind me not to log onto my BB account prior to receiving my items…they list all the stuff in your box for the month, so it wasn’t much of a surprise for me. We all know October is Breast Cancer Awareness month, and this month’s box design continues to be gorgeous, and a full reflection of the theme.

One aspect about BB that really wins over Ipsy is that you receive 10 points for every product you review, and after these two months of boxes, I already have 100 points, which equates to $10 to spend on their website. Birchbox seems to follow the “one product type per box” quite closely, so even though I don’t have much interest in hair or lip products, I always receive one of each in every box. Keep scrolling to see what I received!

027 - October Birchbox 02 - Resized

  1. amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo: I’ve heard a lot of great things about this brand of dry shampoo, but a 5.3 oz can is $22, which is super steep compared to the brand Batiste which I received in Ipsy and really liked. I probably wouldn’t repurchase this no matter how well it worked, but I’m still happy I got a sample!
  2. Eyeko Black Magic Mascara: This was the reason I opted for a surprise Birchbox this month…I’ve really wanted to try this mascara after hearing how long-wearing it is, to the point where it’s a pain to remove and is almost like it’s waterproof. I’ll report back on this mascara later, since I’m still trying to use up some other samples before I open another tube.
  3. ModelCo Ultra Long-Lasting Lipstick: I’ve received a lot of darker shades in the last couple of months because of Fall, so I was actually quite pleased that this one is a middle-of-the-road, peachy shade that’s still highly wearable this season. The formula isn’t the creamiest, but it’s alright for something that retails for about $6-$7.
  4. Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre: Talk about over-packaging…this little tube of product came in a box, with a full ingredients list folded up inside. The actual product is supposed to act as a 24-hour moisturizer and it’ll probably last me about a week.
  5. Skyn Iceland Hydro Cool Firming Eye Gel: This product is a nice change of pace! These eye gels are supposed to reduce puffiness as well as brighten and firm the undereye area. I would really like to visit Iceland someday and go to Blue Lagoon, but this will do for now 🙂

027 - October Birchbox 03 - Resized

Overall, I’m pleased with the items this month, as I’ll definitely try to use them all. The “value” isn’t super high, but I would rather have low-value items that I would definitely use, over a couple full-sized, high-value items such as hair serums or brow products, which basically go straight to the “give away” box at this point. I also appreciate that the eye gels are a “one time use” product, so it won’t contribute to my pile of skincare items that I still need to use up. Let me know if you received any of the same items as me this month, or if you opted for one of the two pre-selected boxes that looked pretty awesome. As always, thank you for reading!

7 thoughts on “October Birchbox Unboxing

  1. I am having so sample envy over that dry shampoo… I’ve been wanting to try it too! 😀 I got the tiny, over packaged moisturizer as well and the Stila mascara instead of the one you got… I can’t wait to see what you think about it!!! My box was great but a bit hair product heavy… my unboxing will be up in a few days. 😀

    Like

  2. Your box looks like what I got last month haha. Jealous that you were able to use the modelco lipstick. Mines came broken and completely melted to the top cap end of the tube so it was pretty useless to me. I’m interested in how well the dry shampoo works though~

    Like

Leave a Reply

