Sephora Shopping Event/Haul

Oh gosh, I have been so busy in the last few days with starting a new job, and having 10+ hours of training every day, so my blogging upkeep has taken a tumble. I wanted to take a moment to mention my trip to Sephora with my friend last Sunday, as we attended a shopping event for Rouge members. Without getting too in-depth, being Rouge status this year was not worth it at all for me, and this event was my first attempt at trying to take advantage of something they offered to these members exclusively.

We had 2 hours to shop before the store officially opened, reps from various brands were there to do makeovers and sell their products, breakfast refreshments were also available, and you received a free pouch with samples with any purchase. My issue with Rouge is that they think if you spend $1,000 on makeup in a year, you just constantly want to shell out money. I’ve never received any free products without having to make a $25 or $35+ purchase. Maintaining this level for next year will most likely be impossible for me since I’m still $700 away from qualifying, as ever since I started buying more cosmetics at Ulta and Nordstrom, I haven’t looked back.

The 4x points was kind of a big deal on the day I went to the event, and they’re still running the bonus points promotion through 8/9 (in the US at least), with VIB status earning 3x and Beauty Insiders earning 2x. Aside from the goodie bag I received, I picked up some things I’ve wanted to try for awhile, but the majority were impulse buys…

Sephora Favorites Discovery Collection Perfume Sampler: I’m such as sucker for perfume samples, especially in the niche brands, and this one allows you to try 5 of them. The NEST Indigo rollerball is amazing, not overpowering, and I actually brought it with me on this trip. The only one I’m not a huge fan of is the Tokyo Milk Dark because it’s a little too musky for me, but that’s just my personal preference. Each of these contain a decent amount of product in them, and the only negative is that you have to apply them by dabbing on your wrist (there’s no spray applicator…boo).

Sephora Triple Action Cleansing Water: Here’s another impulse buy — I’ve been reading so many posts about how great micellar water is, so I decided to pick this one up. It’s probably pricier than most brands — $12 for 6.76 oz, but I’m alright with it. Looking forward to trying it out when I’m no longer away from home.

Sephora Formula X The Match CLIX!: I love Formual X and they actually created sets of colors that go the best with certain skin tones (fair to light/light to medium/medium to deep) so I picked up the light to medium. The picture below makes one of the colors look gray, but it’s actually a blue. I have quite a few Formula X polishes at home, but I’m still excited to rock these colors once I get a chance, since they’re not too bold and are pretty work-appropriate.

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara: I really didn’t need another mascara, but I decided to buy this after reading so many bloggers rave about it. Again, I didn’t bring it with me on this trip, but I look forward to using it soon (also — I have so many mascaras that I’ve experimented with recently and need to use up first!).

Sephora Colorful Wink-It Felt Liner: I can’t remember which blogger wrote about this in the color Periwinkle, but I saw it and thought it was so awesome that Sephora created waterproof felt liners in such interesting colors. I purchased one in Midnight (navy blue) and another in Mojito, which is a light green. I wore the navy shade for awhile and thought it resisted smudge and was decently pigmented. However, they started to look flakey (like, the line was separating from itself) after 6 hours, and the removal process was a total pain. As soon as the line touched my makeup remover, it flaked even more, getting all over my eye area, and it took forever to wipe away the little pieces. I don’t use waterproof eyeliner in general, so I’m not sure if that’s always the case, but I found this to be quite inconvenient.

017 - VibRouge 02 - ResizedFeel free to comment with your thoughts on these products, and as always, thank you for reading!

23 thoughts on “Sephora Shopping Event/Haul

  1. I’m Rouge, too…but I totally missed the event.

    I’ve done the same – recently shopped more at Nordstrom and Ulta for cosmetics, just because the incentives/rewards have been better.

    Like

    • I haven’t had a chance to try it yet but I did read that some bloggers had similar experiences as you 😦 I just tried Benefit They’re Real mascara and really like it though (no clumping, which tends to be my issue). I’ll keep you updated!

      Like

Leave a Reply

