evening skincare routine origins clarisonic mario badescu

Reviewing My Evening Skincare Ritual

Hope everyone had a great 4th of July, and maybe your skin is trying to recover from all the fun in the sun 🙂 Who doesn’t love a good post into someone’s skincare routine? I’m always trying new products, which means I started solely purchasing and accumulating travel sizes, and the same item is rarely in my rotation after a few months. This isn’t because I hated the product, but I think all of us are constantly seeking that HG, and then the HG above our HG. It can get a bit overwhelming when you have tons of skincare products piling up since it usually takes time to see if they’re effective, but I think it keeps things exciting and gives us something to blog about.

To give some background on my skin, I dealt with the some cystic acne in my early 20’s and still get a flare-up here and there, but it’s not nearly as bad. My skin-type transitioned from oily with moderate breakouts, to being combination with redness and some scarring, especially in the cheeks. It still gets oily throughout the day, but controlling oil is longer my only concern because I need to deal with dryness as well.


008 - Night Skincare 02 - Resized

Cleansing

The first step in my current routine is taking Almay’s Oil Free Gentle Makeup Remover Pads to remove all my makeup around the eyes. I have plenty of other eye makeup remover solutions, but I’ve become copacetic with being able to use this straight out of the packaging. The cost is pretty reasonable as well, at $7.99 for 120 pads at the time of this post, and Ulta often has BOGO 50% off on this brand. Another point I want to add is that these are so useful for times when you mess up on your eye liner (which, for me, is often), because the oil-free factor allows you to remove and easily reapply.

I have a Clarisonic Mia Original and for a long time, struggled with whether this product was right for me. I actually bought it from Sephora 5 years ago, and then returned it after a couple of weeks because I hated how the brush head became discolored so easily (and they are supposed to be used for 3 months). A year later, I repurchased the same item and realized I could clean this brush the same way I clean makeup brushes, and that I didn’t need to use it every day. So, I use this only in the evening now with the Mario Badescu Enzyme Cleansing Gel and this does a fabulous job of removing my makeup and leaving my skin clean, but not stripped of natural oils. This product is also extremely affordable, at $14 for 8oz (the one I have was purchased in a set and is the travel size).

After cleansing, I use a cotton ball and apply the Mario Badescu Cucumber Cleansing Lotion, which is basically a toner and contains 4% alcohol. You would think that would be harsh on my skin, but it leaves it soothed and super soft afterwards! Like the Cleaning Gel, the full-size is only $15 for the 8oz bottle at the time of this post.


008 - Night Skincare - ResizedMoisturizing

I have never actually purchased an eye cream because they take me forever to use and I manage to accumulate samples a few times each year. I really like this AmorePacific Rejuvenating Eye Treatment Gel but highly doubt I would pay the $85 for 0.5 oz. The Ole Henriksen Youth Activating Oil and Origins Night-A-Mins were both in my rotation when the weather was still chilly, and I still alternate between them each night. Both are extremely moisturizing and I love that the OH has Vitamin C which is known for being effective in brightening dark spots. Honestly though, I think I would repurchase the full-size of Night-A-Mins if I ran out, which is $41 for 1.7 oz, because the consistency is thick enough for night time and you wake up with soft, glowing skin.

I would love to hear how often you switch up your skincare routine, and if you’ve used/are using any of the products I mentioned. Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “Reviewing My Evening Skincare Ritual

  1. I am obsessed with Origins! I’m talking about that tomorrow and my skincare routine, just makes sense to follow up to my makeup removing! 🙂

    Like

  2. I can’t believe you don’t use much eye cream?? I mostly use it because I have super puffy eyes in the morning, but also it prevent any wrinkles. I’ve been wanting to pick up the Origins Night-A-Mins, not sure if I can wait until the Sephora sale in Nov…

    xoxo Emily
    http://www.ditchtheheels.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

