Myhabit makeup

My First MYHABIT Makeup Order

I have casually browsed and shopped MYHABIT since its launch in 2011 and previously purchased apparel and (tons of) shoes, but never any beauty or makeup products. The main reason is that I preferred purchasing them from Sephora, and most recently, Ulta and Nordstrom, because I was afraid I would be receiving expired or close to expiring products that may be unhealthy to apply to my skin. As a side note, however, I often wonder if the content in articles like this and this are actually supported by makeup companies, trying to increase your purchase frequency. 

On last Monday, I decided to take a leap of faith and order a couple of makeup items. Trying a new concealer was on my to-do list for the month, and I was actually considering the purchase of Laura Mercier’s Secret Camouflage, which retails for $34 for 0.26oz, However, I saw on MYHABIT that they were selling the Laura Mercier Flawless Face Palette which contained 0.16oz of the Secret Camouflage shade that I wanted, and the price of the entire pallet was only $25! I am typically the MAC shade NC-25 or NC-30, and these face palletes came in shades of “Nude”, “Sand”, and another one that I’ve forgotten the name of. I stumbled upon this YouTube review, and the reviewer happened to also be an NC-25 and said she purchased the “Nude” shade, so that’s the one I went with.

As far as the other two products, I really have only 1 HG face powder, which is the ever-so-popular, MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural and I wanted to try something different. I’ve seen Kevyn Aucoin brand around, and Sephora carries some of the stuff now, so I decided to try this Kevyn Aucoin Sensual Skin powder foundation in the shade 04 which was selling for $19, compared to Nordstrom’s price of $56. The 3rd item was just an eye shadow in the shade “Blossom” from Alison Raffaele, which I decided to add because it was $5 and I was paying the $3.99 for shipping anyway.

003 - MYHABIT2 - Resized

MYHABIT has always been great about prompt shipping, and I received my items on the 3rd business day. All the items came in their individual boxes, and as you can see from the photo above, the packaging for each item is quite nice (arguably, as it should be, for powder that retails $56 and an eye shadow that ranges from $17-$20, lol).

The Kevin Aucoin face powder included a foam sponge that you can store inside the compact, as well as the brush pictured above, which is actually decent quality so I’ll be putting it in my travel pouch. I’ve never been a fan of sponges, so that went in my drawer right away (to be used, never). I applied the powder a few times and must say, the coverage is somewhat disappointing! The description of the product says that the powder contains yellow undertones to cover redness, but I applied it after prepping my skin with primer and could barely see it on. In addition, there is significant product fall-out, which is ridiculous considering the retail price. Prior to receiving the product, I was paranoid that the shade was going to be too dark, but it ended up being lighter than my MAC MF shade which is Medium Plus. I’ve decided I’ll use this in the winter when my skin is more pale, and layer it over liquid foundation.

As far as the Laura Mercier Flawless Face palette goes, I did some further research and found out that the one I bought was a Macy’s exclusive product that was rolled out late last year (see this YouTube review). So, not bad, as far as addressing my previous concerns of getting super outdated product. After testing these products, I wish the consistency of the Secret Camouflage inside the palette was creamier, because you have to press hard with your brush to get any product. On the other hand, the consistency of the Secret Concealer was soft and creamy and I loved using it under my eyes to cover dark circles. I think I’ll be saving the majority of this palette for Winter-use, and in the meantime try to figure out how I can apply the concealers better because it has great coverage.

The eye shadow color is called “Blossom” and it’s very subtle, which is what I was looking for. I’ll be keeping this in my travel pouch as well since it also has a mirror.

As far as my overall satisfaction with ordering makeup from MYHABIT, I think I would definitely consider it in the future, but only when I’m looking to try a new brand at a significant discount. Have you ordered makeup or beauty products from MYHABIT or used any of the above products? Please feel free to share your experiences below!

3 thoughts on “My First MYHABIT Makeup Order

  1. I am starting to think that Kevin Aucoin products aren’t that great. You are one of several people I have heard mixed reviews from 😦 That Laura Mercier palette is a great deal!

    Like

    • Yeah..it’s such a bummer because the products are very pricey! Fortunately I got mine at such a discount…but still, I would probably pick a high quality drugstore powder over this one. Thanks for commenting!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

