coconutoats

(Delicious) Breakfast That Cooks Overnight

In the past 10 months, I’ve had the luxury of not needing to abide by a rigid 8-5 work schedule, which has given me the opportunity to explore the benefits of actually taking the time to enjoy breakfast in the morning. This is not an easy thing, especially for most people who are always rushed in the morning, and I’m sure it will be challenging for me when I get back into the work grind in August. However, I have found that taking even 15 minutes to sit and sip your coffee (or tea. or whatever) and concentrating on actually tasting the food you are eating makes you much more prepared to tackle any challenges during the rest of the day.

I want to share a simple, satisfying breakfast recipe, and the best part about it is that it requires zero work in the morning because the ingredients are combined and refrigerated overnight. The original recipe can be found here, and the main difference in the adaptation below is that I chose to use canned coconut milk geared towards cooking, instead of the coconut milk beverage.

Recipe (yields a little over 3 servings):

1 Can – 13.5 fl oz light coconut milk (the one from Trader Joe’s is perfect)
1 ½ Cup – Uncooked Oats
3 Tbsp – Chia seeds
3 Tsp – Vanilla Extract
2 Tbsp – Maple Syrup

Mix all ingredients together in preferably a glass container with a lid. Store in the fridge and consume in the morning with any toppings you prefer. We have been keeping ours up to 2 nights in the fridge with no issue, but I wouldn’t recommend any longer than that.

Each serving contains 1 tablespoon of Chia, which accounts for 20% of your daily suggested fiber alone. That’s pretty awesome, and the protein, calcium, magnesium within the seeds also give you that boost early on in the morning.

Give this a try and let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “(Delicious) Breakfast That Cooks Overnight

  1. Hey! This sounds really yummy. I have been soaking my oats overnight too and adding it to my smoothies in the morning. I cannot wait to try this recipe. I have all the ingredients except for chia seed. Maybe I will substitute with hemp seed instead.

    Like

Leave a Reply

